~ West Texas Historical Association ~

WTHA Awards - the Richardson Award

The Rupert N. Richardson Award

The Rupert N. Richardson Award recognizes the best non-fiction book published on West Texas History.

During his long career at Hardin-Simmons University, Rupert Richardson was both president and professor emeritus, and founder and long-time editor/director of the West Texas Historical Association. He was considered one of the preeminent Texas and Western historians and authored numerous books including "The Comanche Barrier to South Plains Settlement" (1933) and a history textbook Texas: The Lone Star State (1943) that eventually went through five editions.

He was born on April 28, 1891, on Sandy Creek near Caddo, Texas and died in Abilene on April 14, 1988. He held a B.A. Degree from Hardin-Simmons in 1912 and a B.S. from the University of Chicago in 1914. He obtained both a M.A. and Ph.D. Degree from the University of Texas in 1922 and 1928.  The Rupert Richardson Award was established in 1996.

Eligibility requirements include:
  • The book must focus on West Texas history.
  • Eligible books are to have been published within the past two (2) calendar years.
  • To be eligible, an individual must have been a member of the Association for at least one full year prior to the application deadline.
  • Publishers should submit three copies of each nominated book.

The award winner will receive a $500 cash award and a certificate.

Award and grant applications are due on January 10.  Award winners will be announced at the annual meeting of the Association during the presidential luncheon.

Winners of the Rupert N. Richardson Award for Best Book on West Texas:

  • 2016 - Glen Ely, The Texas Frontier and the Butterfield Overland Mail, 1858-1861
  • 2015 - Sylvia Gann Mahoney, Finding the Great Western Trail
  • 2013 - Alvin R. Lynn, Kit Carson and the First Battle of Adobe Walls: a Tale of Two Journeys
  • 2014 - Bruce A. Glasrud and Robert J. Mallouf, Big Bend's Ancient and Modern Past
  • 2012 - Patrick Dearen, Devil's River: Treacherous Twin to the Pecos, 1535-1900
  • 2011 - Glen Ely, Where the West Begins: Debating Texas Identity
  • 2010 - Paul Carlson and Tom Crum, Myth, Memory, and Massacre: The Pease River Capture of Cynthia Ann Parker
  • 2009 - Bret Cruse, Battles of the Red River War: Archaeological Perspectives on the Indian Campaign of 1874
  • 2008 - Bill Neal, "From Guns to Gavels: How Justice Grew Up in the Outlaw West."
  • 2007 - Bill Neal, Getting Away with Murder on the Texas Frontier
  • 2006 - Jim Matthews, Fort Concho:  A History and a Guide
  • 2005 - Tom Alexander, Rattlesnake Bomber Base
  • 2004 - Marsha Pfluger, Across Time and Territory: A Walk Through the National Ranching Heritage Center
  • 2003 - Paul H. Carlson, The Buffalo Soldier Tragedy of 1877
  • 2002 - Jo Ella Powell Exley, Frontier Blood: the Saga of the Parker Family
  • 2001 - Jim Pfluger and Bob Moorehouse, Pitchfork Country: the Photography of Bob Moorehouse
  • 2000 - Paul H. Carlson, ed., The Cowboy Way: an Exploration of History and Culture
  • 1999 - Frederick W. Rathjen, Texas Panhandle Frontier (2nd edition)
  • 1998 - John Miller Morris, Llano Estacado: Exploration and Imagination on the High Plains of Texas and New Mexico, 1536-1860
  • 1997 - Paul H. Carlson, Empire Builder in the Texas Panhandle: William Henry Bush
  • 1996 - Ty Cashion, A Texas Frontier: The Clear Fort Country and Fort Griffin, 1849-1887

P.O. 41041
Texas Tech University
Lubbock, Texas

Ph. 806-742-9076 wthayb@ttu.edu


Paul Carlson and Tom Crum, pictured here with Monte Monroe, were winners of the 2010 Richardson Award for Best Book. They generously donated their award check to the WTHA Student Scholarship fund.

Author Bill Neal, two time winner of the Rupert Richardson Award, donated his check back to WTHA for the scholarship fund. Photo by Gene Preuss.

Monte Monroe presents the Rupert Richardson Award for the Best Book on West Texas History to Bill Neal for "Getting Away with Murder on the Texas Frontier.

 Jim Matthews, with wife Becky, proudly shows his award plaque which he received when his book, Fort Concho: A History and a Guide, won the 2006 Richardson award for best book on West Texas History.