~ West Texas Historical Association ~

WTHA Awards - the Paul H. Carlson Best Student Essay Award

The Paul H. Carlson Best Student Essay Award

Eligibility requires that the essay, ranging from 10 to 14 pages in length, be written by a student enrolled in a college or university and be sponsored by a faculty member of that institution.  A cover letter from the sponsoring faculty member and a one-page abstract of the paper must accompany the submitted manuscript.

The winner of the award will receive $250.00 plus a $50 grant to offset travel to the annual WTHA conference to receive the award at the Saturday luncheon.

The essay will be included on the program of the annual meeting of the Association and will be published in its annual publication, The West Texas Historical Review (formerly The Yearbook prior to 2012.)

The award is named after Paul H. Carlson, a former professor of history at Texas Tech University and a well published author in the field of West Texas history. Besides being a long-time member of WTHA and one of the organization's Life Directors, Dr. Carlson is also a member of the Texas Institute of Letters.

Student Essay Award
c/o Executive Director,
WTHA/Southwest Collection
Box 41041
Texas Tech University
Lubbock, Texas 79409

STYLE.  The Chicago Manual of Style, 13th Edition, is the style sheet.  End notes should also be used and double spaced.  Because the West Texas Historical Review is computer generated, the manuscript must be submitted in Word Document format (.doc or .docx file type).

CRITERIA.  Criteria for Judging are the following:  1) readability and style of the presentation; 2) use of research materials; 3) overall conception; and 4) contribution to the history of West Texas.

Award and grant applications are due on January 10.  Award winners will be announced at the annual meeting of the Association during the presidential luncheon.

Winners of the West Texas Historical Association Outstanding Student Essay Award

  • 2016 - Briana Weaver, Sam Houston State University
  • 2013 - Joshua Logsdon, Angelo State University
  • 2012 - Anthony Smith, Tarleton State University
  • 2011 - Stuart Williams, Texas Tech University
  • 2010 - Travis Taylor, Angelo State University
  • 2009 - Thomas Leman Saunders, McMurray University
  • 2008 - Ruth Ann Shirley, McMurray University
  • 2007 - Tracy Stewart, West Texas A&M University
  • 2006 - John McCullough, Texas Tech University
  • 2005 - Nicholas Pruitt, Wayland Baptist University
  • 2004 - Ashley Armes, Texas Tech University
  • 2003 - David Holt, West Texas A&M University
  • 2002 - Alexander Soto Cano, Angelo State University
  • 2001 - Dana Magill, Texas Tech University
  • 2000 - Scott Sosebee, Texas Tech University
  • 1999 - Gary Lindsey, Texas Tech University
  • 1998 - Ed Tinney, Angelo State University
  • 1997 - no award given
  • 1996 - Carolyn Griffith, Hardin-Simmons University
  • 1995 - Christie R. Wyse, Texas Tech University

P.O. 41041font>
Texas Tech University
Lubbock, Texas

Ph. 806-742-9076 wthayb@ttu.edu


Monte Monroe presents Tracy Stewart with the award for Best Student Essay at the Saturday Business Luncheon.

Monte Monroe with John McCullough, winner of the 2006 Student Essay Award.

Ashley Armes, winner of the 2004 Student Essay Award.

David Holt, winner of the 2003 Student Essay Award